Society of Midland Authors Logo
Home SMA Events Members' New Books Publicity Tips for Authors Speakers Bureau Notices & Member Events Donors & Grant Makers Contact Information Search this Site Join E-mail List
 Awards Contest:
About Winners
 Literary License:
Latest Issue Newsletter Index
Officers and Board Author Members Associate Members

Award Winners

Winners from Prior Years

2018 Awards for Books Published in 2017

Sharon Solwitz, “Once, in Lourdes,” Spiegel & Grau. (Author lives in Chicago.)
Curtis Dawkins, “The Graybar Hotel,” Scribner. (Author lives at the Lakeland Correctional Facility in Coldwater, Michigan.)
Lesley Nneka Arimah, “What It Means When a Man Falls From the Sky,” Riverhead Books. (Author lives in Minneapolis.)
Ben Greenman, “Don Quixotic,” Antibookclub. (Author was born in Chicago and attended graduate school at Northwestern University; now lives in Ridgewood, New York.)

WINNER: Doug Stanton, “The Odyssey of Echo Company: The 1968 Tet Offensive and the Epic Battle to Survive the Vietnam War,” Scribner. (Author lives in Traverse City, Michigan.)
HONOREES: Bonnie Rochman, “The Gene Machine: How Genetic Technologies Are Changing the Way We Have Kids—and the Kids We Have,” Scientific American/Farrar, Straus & Giroux. (Author grew up in Missouri; lives now in Seattle.)
Lindsey Fitzharris, “The Butchering Art:  Joseph Lister’s Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine,” Scientific American/Farrar, Straus & Giroux. (Author grew up in Mount Prospect, Illinois; lives in Great Doddington, United Kingdom.)
Rich Cohen, “The Chicago Cubs: Story of a Curse,” Farrar, Straus & Giroux. (Author is a former Glencoe native; now lives in New York.)

The judges for Adult Nonfiction were Mervin Block, Jim Schwab and Joyce Burns Zeiss

WINNER: Jonathan Eig, “Ali: A Life,” Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Author lives in Chicago.)
HONOREES: Donna Seaman, “Identity Unknown: Rediscovering Seven American Women Artists,” Bloomsbury. (Author lives in Chicago.)
A. James Fuller, “Oliver P. Morton and the Politics of the Civil War and Reconstruction,” The Kent State University Press. (Author lives in Monrovia, Indiana.)
David A. Nichols, “Ike and McCarthy: Dwight Eisenhower’s Secret Campaign Against Joseph McCarthy,” Simon & Schuster. (Author lives in Winfield, Kansas.)

The judges for Biography & Memoir were Bob Remer, Taylor Pensoneau and James Plath.

WINNER: Erika L. Sanchez, “I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter,” Knopf Books for Young Readers. (Author lives in Chicago.)
HONOREES: Aaron Reynolds, “Creepy Pair of Underwear,” Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. (Author lives in Fox River Grove, Illinois.)
Natasha Tarpley, “The Harlem Charade,” Scholastic. (Author lives in Chicago.)
Helen Frost, “When My Sister Started Kissing,” Farrar, Straus, and Giroux. (Author lives in Fort Wayne, Indiana.)

The judges for Children’s Fiction were Debbie Chocolate, Shari Frost and Brian E. Wilson.

WINNER: Mary Losure, “Isaac the Alchemist: : Secrets of Isaac Newton, Reveal’d,”Candlewick Press. (Author lives in St. Paul, Minnesota)
HONOREES: Michael Bornstein and Debbie Bornstein Holinstat, “Survivor’s Club: : The True Story of a Very Young Prisoner of Auschwitz,” Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers. (Authors are former Illinois resident, living now in New Jersey.)
Jan Greenburg and Sandra Jordan, “Meet Cindy Sherman: Artist, Photographer, Chameleon,” Roaring Brook Press. (Greenburg lives in St. Louis; Jordan was raised in Cleveland and lives in New York City.)

The judges for Children’s Nonfiction were Marlene Targ Brill, Lisa Holton and Patrick McBriarty

WINNER: Marcus Wicker, “Silencer,” Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Author was raised in Ann Arbor, Michigan; lives in Memphis, Tennessee.)
HONOREES: Jim Daniels, “Rowing Inland,” Wayne State University Press. (Author was born in Detroit; lives in Pittsburgh.)
Erin Adair-Hodges, “Let’s All Die Happy,” University of Pittsburgh Press. (Author lives in Toledo, Ohio.)

The judges for Poetry were Linda Nemec Foster, Robert Sutherland and Bill Yarrow.

WINNER: Adam Morgan, editor-in-chief of the Chicago Review of Books, a contributing writer at Chicago magazine, and a book critic for the Minneapolis Star-Tribune.

Winners from Prior Years

top of page