Society of Midland Authors Logo
Home SMA Events Members' New Books Publicity Tips for Authors Speakers Bureau Notices & Member Events Donors & Grant Makers Contact Information Search this Site Join E-mail List
 Awards Contest:
About Winners
 Literary License:
Latest Issue Newsletter Index
Officers and Board Author Members Associate Members

Awards Contest Judges

Online Entry Form Contest Rules Printable Entry Form About the Contest


Please send a book and entry form to each judge in your category.

Adult Nonfiction

  • Ray E. Boomhower, Indiana Historical Society Press, 450 W. Ohio St., Indianapolis, IN 46202-3269
  • Gregory Harms, 21729 Old Renwick Rd., Plainfield, IL 60544
  • Davis Schneiderman, Center for Chicago Programs, Lake Forest College, 555 N. Sheridan Rd., Lake Forest, IL 60045


Adult Fiction

  • Mark Eleveld, 305 Brooks Ave., Joliet, IL 60435
  • Bayo Ojikutu, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences, Rm. 1647, Lewis Hall, 25 E. Jackson Blvd., DePaul University, Chicago, IL 60604
  • Tony Romano, 23W279 Saint James Ct., Glen Ellyn, IL 60137


Biography and Memoir

  • John Hallwas, 404 S. Edwards St., Macomb, IL 61455
  • Re’Lynn Hansen, 14388 Lakeshore Rd., Lakeside, MI 49116
  • Bob Remer, 5840 N. Kenmore, Chicago, IL 60660



  • Anne-Marie Cusac, 419 Custer Ave., 2E, Evanston, IL 60202
  • Alice Friman, 109 Treanor Dr., Milledgeville, GA 31061
  • Martha Modena Vertreace-Doody, 5232 S. Greenwood Ave., Chicago, IL 60615


Children’s Nonfiction

  • Patricia Kummer, 2671 Normandy Pl., Lisle, IL 60532-1081
  • Andrew Medlar, Harold Washington Public Library, 400 S. State St., 10-S, Chicago, IL 60605
  • Christine Taylor-Butler, 737 Manheim Rd., Kansas City, MO 64109


Children’s Fiction

  • Lisa Bigelow, 5227 Greenwood St., Skokie, IL 60077
  • Laurie Lawlor, 2103 Noyes St., Evanston, IL 60201
  • Gary Schmidt, Department of English, Calvin College, 1795 Knollcrest Circle SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546


Should you have any questions or want to confirm that judges received submitted books, please email SMA award’s chair Marlene Targ Brill at


top of page