Society of Midland Authors Logo
Home SMA Events Members' New Books Speakers Bureau Notices & Member Events Donors & Grant Makers Contact Information Search this Site Join E-mail List
 Awards Contest:
About Winners
 Literary License:
Latest Issue Newsletter Index
Officers and Board Author Members Associate Members

About the SMA Literary Competition

The Society of Midland Authors is now accepting submissions for its annual literary awards, which will honor books by Midwestern authors published in 2015.

Each winner will receive $500 and a recognition award. The judges in each category may also deem one or two finalists as worthy of recognition, and each finalist will receive a commemorative award. These honors will be given out at the awards banquet the second Tuesday in May.

A book may be nominated by its author or publisher. Authors do not need to be members of the Society of Midland Authors in order to enter the contest. Please read the following rules carefully before submitting:

— An entry form must accompany each book. One copy of the book and one entry form go to each of the three judges in its category. That means a total of three forms per title (three judges, three forms, three books). Books unaccompanied by completed entry forms will not be considered.

— Each book entry must have a 2015 publication date with corresponding copyright date. The author must either reside in, be born in, or have strong ties to one of the 12 Midland states

Midwestern Heartland States



North Dakota

South Dakota

Since 2002, the James Friend Memorial Award for Literary Criticism has also been presented under our aegis. In addition, at the discretion of the Society's officers and board of directors, lifetime achievement awards are presented to individuals who have donated their time and energies to assist the Society over a period of years and to authors recognized for their contributions to Midwestern letters.

The Society of Midland Authors looks forward to receiving appropriate submissions and honoring Midwest authors at the 101st awards banquet in May, 2016.  All are welcome: see you there.

Should you have any questions or want to confirm that judges received submitted books, please email SMA award’s chair Marlene Targ Brill at

top of page