Society of Midland Authors Logo
Home SMA Events Members' New Books Speakers Bureau Notices & Member Events Donors & Grant Makers Contact Information Search this Site
 Awards Contest: About 2017 WINNERS
 Literary License:
Latest Issue Newsletter Index
Officers and Board Author Members Associate Members



SMA Books Blog    

About the SMA

When fifty writers formed the Society of Midland Authors on April 24, 1915, their objectives included "a closer association among the writers of the Middle West" and "the stimulation of creative literary effort." A century later, the Society still accomplishes those goals — hosting literary events, honoring the region's best books with annual awards, and connecting its members with a newsletter, Twitter and other channels.

The Society hosts literary events, which are free and open to the public. See our events page for details of upcoming programs. Chicago Public Radio's audio recordings of our programs, including author lectures and panel discussions, can be heard at

The Society's founding authors included Clarence Darrow, Harriet Monroe, Hamlin Garland, Edna Ferber, Vachel Lindsay, George Ade, Mary Hastings Bradley, Emerson Hough, Howard Vincent O'Brien, James Whitcomb Riley and William Allen White. Others who joined soon afterward were Jane Addams, Ring Lardner, Edgar Lee Masters, John T. McCutcheon and Lorado Taft.

Crediting John M. Stahl with sparking the idea of an authors organization, the Society's first president, Hobart Chatfield-Taylor, wrote: "None but a bold man would have sought to weld such individualistic — dare I say egotistic? — creatures as authors into a society of any sort."

Based in Chicago, the Society includes published authors from twelve states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Since 1957, the Society has presented annual awards for the best books written by Midwestern authors. Notable winners of the juried competition have included Saul Bellow, Kurt Vonnegut, Studs Terkel, Gwendolyn Brooks, Mike Royko, Jane Smiley, Dempsey Travis, Leon Forrest, William Maxwell, Louise Erdrich, Scott Turow, Alex Kotlowitz, Aleksandar Hemon, Stuart Dybek, Roger Ebert and many more.

The award categories are Adult Fiction, Adult Nonfiction, Biography, Children's Fiction, Children's Nonfiction and Poetry.

See for full list of past winners and runners-up. Also watch this website near the end of each year for details on how to enter the contest.

This website features information on the Society's public events and annual awards. The website promotes new book by Society members. Member authors are featured in a speakers bureau on the site.

The Society is also on Facebook at

And follow us on Twitter at @midlandauthors and @BiblioFileSMA for news on Midwestern authors and links to articles on writing and publishing.

Members must be current or former residents of the twelve Midland states. Each member is the author or co-author of a book demonstrating literary style and published by a recognized publisher, or the author of a published or professionally produced play. The Society also includes associate members — people with a connection to literature, such as librarians, teachers, publishers and editors.

To join, a writer must be nominated by a current Society member. Authors interested in joining may contact the Society through the form and email addresses at

Members receive a subscription to Literary License — a newsletter packed with news about the latest books and activities by the Society's authors — as well as a yearbook including addresses and contact information for fellow members.

The Society, a nonprofit corporation run completely by the volunteer efforts of its members, welcomes contributions to help support our awards program and other activities. Contributions are tax-deductible.

Add/Revise Bio Submit New Book Speakers Bureau Listing Dues Form Pay Dues Online Nomination Form
Midland State Affiliates of the Library of Congress Permitting Author Entries
RSS feed Facebook RSS feed Twitter
SMA programs and events recorded by Chicago Public Radio's Chicago Amplified

The banner for this web site was created from a photograph of Preston Bradley Hall, Chicago Cultural Center, formerly the main branch of the Chicago Public Library.

top of page


October Monthly Meeting

Write Across Chicago:
Midland Authors Have Their Say

When: Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2018. Cocktail hour: 6-7 p.m.; Panel discussion: 7-8 p.m.
Where: Cliff Dwellers Club, 200 S. Michigan Ave., 22nd floor penthouse-with a view!

Write Across Chicago, sponsored by the Illinois Writing Project, is a month-long program to encourage everyone to write more. These 4 extremely accomplished authors will share why they writeand how writing has benefited them

Michele Weldon: I chose writer because as a young reader the words on a page could grab me by the throator stroke my hair until I fell asleep. Michele wroteEscape Points: A MemoirandWriting To Save Your Life. She's a journalist, senior leader withThe OpEd Project,emerita faculty at the Medill School of Journalism, and editorial director ofTake The Lead, and has delivered 200 keynotes worldwide.
R. Craig Sautter: I love language and the sound and sense of words from which I can compose a kind of cosmic music. Craig has written or co-written several books, including Inside the Wigwam and Wicked City: Kenna to Capone. He's a poet, philosopher and educator. Craig wrote and produced ads for Barack Obama and served as the 47th president of Midland Authors.
Linda Nemec Foster: I write because the intangible rewards are gratifying and humbling. Linda is the author of eleven collections of poetry, includingThe Lake Michigan Mermaid and Talking Diamonds. She's also a literary presenter. Linda was selected to be the first Poet Laureate of Grand Rapids, Mich., (2003-05) and founded the Contemporary Writers Series at Aquinas College.
Michael Raleigh: My family all talked and told their stories, and I was infected. Michael has written several books, including Peerless Detective and The Conjurer's Boy. While working for Chicago's Model Cities Program, he ran youth employment programs. Michael taught English (at all levels) and Chicago History at Truman College and now teaches writing at DePaul University.

For more information, contact Greg Borzo: (312) 636-8968;